• Title: The Demon of Dakar: A Mystery (Ann Lindell Mysteries)
  • Author: Kjell Eriksson, Ebba Segerberg
  • Released: 2009-06-23
  • Language: English
  • Pages: 368
  • ISBN: 0312366701
  • ISBN13: 978-0312366704
  • ASIN: 0312366701
From Publishers Weekly Swedish author Eriksson's masterful ensemble procedural, the third available in the U.S. after The Cruel Stars of the Night (2007), immerses the reader in the ordinary and extraordinary lives of detective Ann Lindell and her colleagues of the Uppsala police force. The odd assemblage of characters who engage the interest of the police include a Mexican peasant, Manuel Alavez, who has traveled to Sweden to see his imprisoned brother; a restaurant owner, Slobodan Andersson, whose successful restaurants, Dakar and Alhambra, owe much to shady funds and his unusual partner, Armas; and a single mother, Eva Willman, for whom a waitressing job opens new vistas. After Armas is found dead of a knife wound, others get caught up in the turmoil caused by the crimes of a few. There are plenty of shades of gray in this tale told with wry humor, compassion and a fine understanding that in life often things cannot be resolved either neatly or completely. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

“Kjell Eriksson’s crime novels are among the very best.”
- Henning Mankell

“With Kjell Eriksson, what we find is an extraordinary depth of feeling for honest people caught up in serious crime. [In The Demon of Dakar], Eriksson shows how crime undermines the foundations of both family and community.”
- The New York Times Book Review

“Intriguing . . . complex . . . will appeal to fans of Fossum and Tursten. A must for the growing contingent of Swedish crime-fiction devotees.”
- Booklist

“Riveting . . . it’s hard to see how the author could do any better. Eriksson is a gifted storyteller and a great creator of character . . . terrific.”
- The Globe and Mail

“An outstanding series . . . links between the murder at Dakar and other violent crimes heighten the urgency as more bloodshed looms. . . . Ably translated—has a big cast and a wide canvas, but Mr. Eriksson is careful to keep the story on a human scale.”
- The Wall Street Journal

I have to say I love this idea, it solved a big problem.

Alexandria Hathaway
Steelville, Missouri

Why Actstr?

Easy

Your easy workspace evolves your ideas into finished products.

Fair

Cut through the clutter and get fair results in a fresh & exciting way.

Loyal

Actstr is a simple and powerful tool that automatically organizes for loyal results.

Definitely recommended. Great experience, which gave us a better perspective and helped to solve several business problems.

Madison Wisner
Buffalo, New York

Meet the Actstr team

Juan Pablo Montoya

Joshua Wisner

Warehouse Supervisor

Kyle Zimmerman

Maya Benson

Engineering

Cheryl Collins

Christopher Sanders

CEO

Pure and simple. You guys have nailed it.

Alizay Henderson
East Honolulu, Hawaii

Proudly Partenering With

Získejte registraci domén s tld .online, .space, .store, .tech zdarma!
Stačí si k jedné z těchto domén vybrat hosting Plus nebo Mega a registraci domény od nás dostanete za 0 Kč!
Objednat